In the blogging world. I am. Not too sure how I feel about this just yet. I started a blog a long time ago, and it didn’t go anywhere. But with the recent turn of events I’ve decided to give it a go again. Plus, I want to get my first novel out there. No time to be shy about it now. I really only have one chance to do this right. Besides, being recently unemployed (again) has afforded me the luxury of time to do this. I could be cleaning my house or studying for my classes, but writing is so much more fun.

The picture I’ve posted are of my maternal great, great grandparents. She was the inspiration for my novel, THE LONG LIVES OF THE WADDAWA WOMEN. I can only hope I do her justice.

The novel is complete, but I have a ton of rewriting to do. I knew it would take some time, but I am in it for the long haul. It sorta reminds me of quitting smoking; I’ve been smoke free for over a year, and I’m constantly thinking of grabbing a smoke, but I pause. I don’t ever want to go through that again and waste this time. I feel the same way about the novel. Hell, it’s already written and I’m not going to let it linger in the drawer gathering dust. No. I’ll get it out there somehow even if I have to self-pub it.

As of yet, I’ve received 8 rejection letters. It’s okay because I expected it to happen. Truth be told, I wasn’t ready to start querying. But I was so anxious to get it going and of course, I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. I’ll have to wait. I’m just proud of myself for finishing and it was a blast to do, so I’m looking forward to the editing process and all the headaches that go along with it.

